Dénes Várjon, Gábor Takács-Nagy

June 23, 2023
7 PM
Liszt Academy, Grand Hall
Google Map


Erdélyi Miklós season pass
Buy tickets


Brahms: Piano Concerto in D minor, Op. 15
Brahms: Symphony No. 3 in F major, Op. 90


Dénes Várjon - piano


Gábor Takács-Nagy
Our orchestra performs the two most dramatic orchestral works of Johannes Brahms. He composed the Piano Concerto in D minor when he was 25, inspired by the shock of his friend’s, Robert Schumann's suicide attempt. His original intention was to write a symphony, but then he transcribed the piece for two pianos, thereby finding the final form. Symphony No. 3, one of his most enigmatic works, was composed exactly 25 years later. Many see parallels between the two works. János Richter, the conductor of the premiere, compared it to Beethoven's Heroic Symphony.

Dénes Várjon is a Liszt and Kossuth Prize-winning pianist and university professor. He won 1st prize at the Géza Anda International Piano Competition in Zurich at a young age. He often performs in chamber music concerts. Gábor Takács-Nagy started his career as a violinist and was the first violinist of the string quartet named after him. He is professor at the Geneva University of Music and conductor of the Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra in Switzerland and the Manchester Camerata in England. He is a distinguished artist and has been awarded the Bartók-Pásztory Prize and the Prima Primissima Prize.