Liza Ferschtman, Róbert Farkas

April 20, 2023
7 PM
Liszt Academy, Grand Hall
Google Map


Lukács Miklós season pass
Buy tickets


Haydn: Symphony No. 44 in E minor (Mourning)
Alban Berg: Violin Concerto
Schubert: Symphony No. 4 in C minor (Tragic)


Liza Ferschtman - violin


Róbert Farkas
The concert will feature two classical symphonies bearing the title Mourning and Tragic. Alban Berg himself gave his Violin Concerto the subtitle ’To the memory of an angel’. He composed his last completed work in memory of the daughter of his friend, the world-famous architect Walter Gropius, who has died of polio at the age of 18. Why Schubert gave the title ’Tragic’ to his symphony composed at a young age, one can only guess. The first movement could be described as dramatic, but the following movements are not sad at all. Haydn's symphony was given this title a hundred years after it was written. The first movement is indeed serious and deeply emotional, while the second is full of serenity, a characteristic of the Classical composer.

Liza Ferschtman is a Dutch violinist born to a family of Russian musicians. She performs in highly successful concerts all over the world and plays in many chamber music concerts with famous partners. The concert will be conducted by Róbert Farkas, our orchestra's chief conductor.