Róbert Farkas

2024. May 9.
6 PM
Festetics Palace, Mirror Hall
Google Map


Festetics season pass
Buy tickets


Dvořák: Serenade for Strings in E major, Op. 22
Dvořák: Serenade for Winds in D minor, Op. 44


Róbert Farkas
Antonin Dvořák (1841-1904), like several other composers (e.g. Brahms), opened his series of orchestral pieces with lighter works, serenades. The first of his two early serenades was for string orchestra, following the example of Mozart's early serenades. In the second, he only uses wind instruments and lower-pitched string instruments, and in this piece, he anticipates later Slavonic dances. In the light of Dvořák's later great works (symphonies, operas), we will be pleased to discover in these two youthful works the characteristics and values of his compositional style: an inexhaustible richness of melody, a sense of form and proportion.

Róbert Farkas has been the chief conductor of the MÁV Symphony Orchestra since 2021. He completed his conducting studies at the Franz Liszt Academy of Music and later in Berlin, and began his successful conducting career in Germany.